Making 2014 Count


Image

Today, I’m linking up with one of my favorite bloggers Casey Leigh for a fun, thought-provoking exercise in new year goal setting.

First off, let me say that I’ve rarely made New Year’s resolutions because I knew how angry and upset I’d be at myself when I broke them on January 2nd. However, I did participate in the One Word trend last year. My word was “Trust”, and I used that word often to remind myself of the goal I set for last year. Now, I’m ready to move on to 2014.

::What is something you want to change, or a goal you want to set for the New Year, and what is your plan for making it happen?::

Simple, but still important, my goal is to watch less TV and read more. TV is a lot easier to watch at the same time as playing with Finn, but I have a mile high stack of books on my beside table begging to be read. I think I’ll be a better human being if I spend more time thinking for entertainment than mindlessly watching TV. I don’t have a plan other than to just keep the TV off for longer periods of time until I’m “weaned”, so to speak. 

::Many people choose a word to reflect on, live by, or aspire to for the New Year. What is your word, how did you decide upon it, and how do you hope to incorporate it into 2014?::

My word for 2014 is “Create”. Last year was really just about surviving becoming a mom. I was way less prepared for that new stage of life than I ever imagined, but now that I have all the answers…Bwhahahaha! I can’t even finish that sentence with a straight face. Ahem….now that I feel more confident about making choices that affect a tiny human being, I want to go beyond survival to thriving. I want to create memorable experiences for Finn out of our everyday activities. I want to create artistically through writing, even if it’s just on this blog. I want to create healthy margins in our free time. Finally, I want to create more time to spend with God. He has taught me what it means to truly depend on someone when you feel like you have no control over anything happening around you, and how to trust that the plan He’s created for me may not always look the way I’d envisioned…it’s always better. 

“Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.” Psalm 51:10

::I will make 2014 count by::

Focusing on the sheer abundance of wonderful things in my life, instead of the few, tiny, don’t-really-matter, won’t-really-matter-in-a-few-years things that I wish were different. 

What about you guys? Goals for this year? A One-Word Statement? How do you plan to make 2014 count? Link your post in the comments below or join me in the link up on Casey Leigh’s blog. May all your goals be reached!

2 thoughts on “Making 2014 Count

  1. Cathy Baker says:

    Great post, Allison! I’m posting about my word for 2014 tomorrow. I will make 2014 count by being more intentional in the small things. We sure do miss you and your mom. 🙂

  2. jenntenh says:

    These “word” posts have been so inspiring. I’ve read so many blogger’s choices for words that will guide their year and it’s incredible to see the diversity and plans. I haven’t seen “brave” yet, but I love it. Have a wonderful 2014!

Lovely Comments Here...

