//Wear//Book Cover Style


So, I know what you’re thinking…what does one wear when they’re the model for their own book cover?

A really cute Old Navy dress of course! Unless you’re a guy.

cute dress

If you’re tuning into day three of my guest posts on Allison’s blog, get up to speed here & here.

Since my husband and I started our own company to publish Let Me Fall, the burden of the book cover fell on our shoulders (as did everything else). We were thrilled to find an excellent graphic artist whose style seemed to be exactly what we were looking for, but we’d learned from previous attempts that finding an appropriately-posed female silhouette was similar to finding a needle in a haystack. Impossible.

Enter: The really cute Old Navy dress, our living room wall, and a wrinkly green screen.

green screen

Thank God the front cover only needed a silhouette! (The non-Instagram version of this picture is even more dreadful.)

real vs silhouette

I’d love to hear from you guys this week. Please feel free to share any questions you may have about publishing your own book, creating cover art, my writing process, etc. And don’t forget each comment (or share on Facebook and twitter) enters you in the drawing for your very own copy of Let Me Fall (winner announced Friday, May 3rd).

Join me tomorrow for a special interview with someone very integral to the making of Let Me Fall! 

4 thoughts on “//Wear//Book Cover Style

  1. Cathy Baker says:

    I absolutely love this book cover! Thank you for showing us how it works behind the scenes. I write poetry so I’m not sure I’ll ever need a book cover. 🙂

    Allison, thank you for introducing us to Beth! I have a feeling she’s found another fan.

    Beth, are you attending BRMCWC next month? If so, I’d love to meet you!

    • Beth says:

      Hi Cathy! I’m so glad Allison introduced us. 🙂 I enjoy reading your blog posts. I don’t think I’ll make it to BRMCWC this year, so I’m sad to not get to meet you in person.
      Yet.

      • csgbaker says:

        Maybe next year, Beth! 🙂 Thanks for the nice comment about my blog. It means more than you know. I look forward to reading your book. Right or wrong, I’m always drawn to a book by its cover and yours is captivating. Congratulations!

Lovely Comments Here...

