Shine Through the Chaos: Guest Post


shinethroughthechaosAll this week, the lovely Trina Cress is sharing excerpts from her inspirational ebook Shine: The Beginner’s Guide to Living More Intentionally for Christ Everyday. She’ll be giving away a copy to one lucky reader, so read today’s excerpt below and find out more about Trina here.

>>>>>>>

SHINE THROUGH THE CHAOS

In a book about writing I recently read, the author encourages us to pay attention to the words we overuse and replace them. Initially I couldn’t think of any, and felt a little proud—until I shared with another mom about my crazy kids and our chaotic home.

Suddenly, it clicked. Apparently whenever I talk, write, or even think about my life as a stay-at-home mom, my overused words start flooding the scene—chaos, chaotic, crazy, overwhelming, exhausting. I wish this was a coincidence. It’s not. My perfectionist nature does not mesh well with the messiness of motherhood.

Rarely do I feel like I’m shining God’s light through this craziness of motherhood, but I believe that’s just what God is calling us to do wherever we are—let His light shine through the chaos.

That is when God is glorified. When we are weak, He is strong. When we are overwhelmed, He gives us peace. When we are sad, He is our joy. He is love for sin-stained humanity, and the Light in this dark world.

Will we join Him? Will we give Him our chaos and see how He uses it for His glory?

What is one of your current obstacles in letting your light shine?

>>>>>>>

shineebookipad

Read more about Shine here.

Here’s how to enter for your chance to win your own PDF copy of Shine

>> comment on any post shared in the series this week

>> additional entries available for sharing posts from this series on twitter, Facebook, or Pinterest (be sure to leave a comment each time you’ve done so).

6 thoughts on “Shine Through the Chaos: Guest Post

    • Allison says:

      This post (and this part of the book) really hit me hard, Cathy. I think sometimes we can speak things into being if we’re not careful about how we use our words.

    • Trina Cress says:

      Thank you, Cathy. And, it’s true, I often overlook the importance of the words I use. You know, as long as I’m not speaking “evil”, right? It’s incredibly what happens with those other words–the ones we think, speak and eventually believe about ourselves and our lives in Christ!

  1. Debbie S. Richardson says:

    Great checkpoint to personally ask oneself ‘what’ gets in our way to shine in Him……May I be more intent on allowing His light to seep through than bogged down in the dimming……..

Lovely Comments Here...

