Soul Sister Styling Party


This past weekend I threw my first-ever styling party. I honestly didn’t know what to expect, but we all had a blast trying on clothes and learning how we can make the current trends fit with our personal style and body type with Margaret “Mags” Mocko from MagSoul (in downtown Hickory for all you local readers).

I don’t know about you, but I don’t always know how to make current trends work for me, especially if they’re a little out of my comfort zone. I always think I’d love to be able to pull off something like that as I pin a thousand different looks to my Pinterest boards, yet I haven’t had the know-how to make the looks I love work for me. That’s where Mags came in…

Like our own personal stylist, Mags got to the bottom of our fashion concerns and gave us the courage to try some looks that maybe we might have been wary of in the past. She showed us how to layer/block our outfit correctly to bring out our best features (and minimize problem areas) and accessorize correctly for our age and body type.

After she schooled us in style, we spent the rest of the evening running in and out of the three “dressing” rooms I’d set up in the house, comparing outfits, and making ourselves be brave by trying on (and keeping) some looks that we’d been too scared to try in the past but now knew how to make our own.

Take a look…

Party Prep was breeze with a few appetizers (still in the oven at this point) and $2 serving plates from Target.

Party Prep was breeze with a few appetizers (still in the oven at this point) and $2 serving plates from Target.

Mags provided the cucumber-mint water (a MagSoul specialty)

Mags provided the cucumber-mint water (a MagSoul specialty)

Mags came a little early to set up our style session, so I got a sneak peek at some of the adorable stuff we'd get to try on later.

Mags came a little early to set up our style session, so I got a sneak peek at some of the adorable stuff we’d get to try on later.

Style Party 2

Love these maxi dresses.

Love these maxi dresses.

Style Party 4

These sparkly skirts in front drew me in right away.

These sparkly skirts in front drew me in right away.

Style Party 7

Beautiful wreaths, handmade by Mags. She graciously gave me the chevron wreath as a thank you for hosting.

Beautiful wreaths, handmade by Mags. She graciously gave me the Chevron wreath as a thank you for hosting.

Style Party 9

I plugged in the pallet-star Ryan made to make us feel like we were stars on the runway.

I plugged in the pallet-star Ryan made to make us feel like we were stars on the runway.

Mags makes a lot of the jewelry and accessories herself.

Mags makes a lot of the jewelry and accessories herself.

...like these beautiful handbags.

…like these beautiful handbags.

Style Party 14Style Party 15Style party 16

I couldn't resist the hot pink geometric earrings.

I couldn’t resist the hot pink geometric earrings.

Three of us bought this shirt that night and might I say, we all looked equally fabulous in it. (It will be featured in this week's Wardrobe Wednesday, so check back tomorrow for a peek at the back)

Three of us bought this shirt that night and might I say, we all looked equally fabulous in it. (It will be featured in this week’s Wardrobe Wednesday, so check back tomorrow for a peek at the back.)

And then came the scarves...

And then came the scarves…

The signature "MagSoul Blocked Infinity" scarves (all handmade by Mags herself)

The signature “MagSoul Blocked Infinity” scarves (all handmade by Mags herself)

I couldn't believe how my tiny living room quickly morphed into a girly, fun boutique in a matter of minutes.

I couldn’t believe how my tiny living room quickly morphed into a girly, fun boutique in a matter of minutes.

Once guests arrived, Mags took us through this season's hottest trends. Here she's showing us how to create multiple looks from the same pieces.

Once guests arrived, Mags took us through this season’s hottest trends. Here she’s showing us how to create multiple looks from the same pieces.

Shannon explains why her issue with skirt length...

Shannon explains her issue with skirt length…

...and Mags quickly demonstrates the type of skirts that are most versatile for different lengths (and looks).

…and Mags quickly demonstrates the type of skirts that are most versatile for different lengths (and looks).

Those of us who are scared of collared tops quickly learned that it's all about the hair when it comes to making the look work for us...enter the up-do).

Those of us who are scared of collared tops quickly learned that it’s all about the hair when it comes to making the look work for us…enter the up-do).

Once everyone made their final purchases, Mags and I stopped for a picture before she left.

Once everyone made their final purchases, Mags and I stopped for a picture before she left.

I wished I’d snapped more pics of everyone trying things on, but I was busy trying some things as well, so just imagine a fun shopping trip with 12 of your friends in the comfort of your own home.

The thing we all loved about the clothes MagSoul carries is that each of the pieces are chosen by Mags with her customers in mind, so you’ll find things in her store that you don’t see everywhere else. Pieces as unique and fabulous as each of us! You’ll be seeing a lot of the pieces I got (for free for hosting by the way!) in upcoming Wardrobe Wednesdays, so stay tuned…

If you live in or near the Hickory area, I encourage you to host one of the Soul Sister Styling Parties with MagSoul. They are super-easy to host, so much fun to enjoy, and it’s a great way to get trendy clothing for free. If you don’t live nearby, you can always stop by MagSoul’s online store (shipping is free for 5lbs. and under).

Mags is offering a special deal for all you Budget Maven readers: Visit the boutique on Fridays and use the code Budget Maven to receive $5 off of every item you purchase (promotion is in-store only for now).

Also, don’t forget to follow MagSoul on Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter, and Instagram (@magmocko84) and show Mags some love!

Happy Tuesday, everyone!

6 thoughts on “Soul Sister Styling Party

  1. paige says:

    looks like it was a successful event! btw…i’m very interested in a diy for that star! do you think you could share with your readers??

    • Allison says:

      Celeste, it couldn’t hurt to ask someone at your favorite local boutique if they ever do trunk shows. It’s a great way for them to showcase their inventory & for you to play with new trends. I do know Mags travels for shows, just not sure how far she’s willing to drive. Contact her if you’re interested. She’s a pro at styling!

Lovely Comments Here...

