A Week Ago Today…


A week ago today…

I got up to make breakfast like every other day.

I hadn’t slept much the night before because I didn’t feel well, so I decided to lay back down for a few hours after Dad left for work.

When I woke up, I started to feel yucky again, but I just thought it was some bad tacos we had the night before. 🙂

It wasn’t tacos…it was you…

Once I called your Mimi to ask her if I should be feeling a stomach ache in surges, she raced over to take me to the hospital. Dad, Grandma, and Grandpa met us there. Gunny (my dad) came a little later.

We arrived at noon and by 2:54pm, you’d made your grand entrance.

Your first little cry was the sweetest sound I’ve ever heard. They laid you on my chest, and I couldn’t even believe you were the same little being I’d been feeling move around in my stomach the past 8 1/2 months. Dad and I just stared at you.

The nurses took you away for a few minutes to get you cleaned up and wrapped you up nice and snuggly in a blanket before they passed you back to me.

Ever since that moment, you’ve been a constant source of joy, entertainment, and fun. Other than screaming when we change your diaper (who could blame you when that cold air hits your bottom in the middle of the night…talk about a rude awakening), you are very content, peaceful, and laid back. And mealtime is your favorite (as evidenced by your 1 to 2 oz daily weight gain). You’ll be back to your birth weight in no time.

You’ve started opening your little eyes for more than a few seconds at a time. Right now, they look dark blue, but we’ll be interested to see what they are permanently in a few weeks or months. Oh, and I got my wish! You have a tiny dimple in your cheek. We can’t wait until you start smiling and showing it off.

And to think all this started just a week ago today.

We love you, little pinto bean!

Momma and Dad

Our first official picture together…you look so tiny.

Love that little nose.

Swaddling seems to cramp your style. Most of the time, you prefer a loose blanket.

After a late night feeding…This is pretty much your expression all the time, unless you open those beautiful eyes. Then you just study us for few minutes and go back to sleep.

Took this at the doctor’s office. You’ve been there every day since they released us from the hospital because you were jaundice, but you seem to be doing better. The Dr. even said he couldn’t believe how laid back you were when they had to take blood from your poor little foot for the millionth time.

So…what were the rest of you doing a week ago today?

 

 

10 thoughts on “A Week Ago Today…

  1. Collette Green says:

    I loved this blog! It was so sweet Allison…I’m so happy for you and Ryan and Finn is precious as can be…Praying for your new little family.
    -Collette and now officially Aunt Collette 🙂

    • ellen22andersen says:

      Oops! (Sorry Ryan. I have no idea where I got the idea your name was David) It’s wonderful you’re writing all your thoughts and emotions for Finn and sharing them with all of us Allison!

  2. Carol Anne says:

    Ok, today you just made me cry. Finn is the luckiest little guy in the world. And, if your 1st labor went down like this, maybe you better live at the hospital for the last 6 wks with the rest of them!

  3. csgbaker says:

    Nothing nearly as exciting! Congrats, Allison. He is beautiful and there’s no doubt he’ll continue to be a constant source of joy and wonder. Piper, the granddaughter, just turned one year old (time flies!) and there’s still nothing I enjoy more than simply watching her grow up. I can’t wait to meet little Finn. 🙂

  4. Ronda Martin says:

    We were in wonderment and bliss, as you were. All of those months of praying for a healthy boy has come true. The best is yet to come! My arm ache between times of hold him and gazing upon that face. xoxoxo (proud Grandma)

Lovely Comments Here...

