Thrifty and Nifty {Guest Post}: DIY Crocheted Throw Pillow


Today, my guest, the amazingly multi-talented blogger, writer, and crafter, Beth Pensinger shares how to create your own trendy, Pier 1-inspired throw pillow. Enjoy!

~.~

Back in the day, I repinned a crocheted rose pillow tutorial. (http://twogirlsbeingcrafty.blogspot.com/2011/03/crocheted-rose-pillow-tutorial.html) These crafty-girl-bloggers re-created a sweet pillow from Pier 1. I’m always up for trying new things, and I already had all the supplies on hand, so I decided to give it a whirl and document the process.

I started out by visiting my old clothes/inexpensive fabric collection and picked out a solid gray material.

Then I raided my yarn stash. (I love yarn and try to pick up fun skeins as I find them.) I used black yarn for the chain stitch and purple for the shell stitch. I had to have two separate balls of yarn, but alas, I did not have two in the same color.

I grabbed an oversized decorative plate from my kitchen and used it to measure the two circles I needed to cut out of the fabric.

The chaining commenced. Using a 10.5 mm hook, I chained about 25 stitches before starting up with the shell stitches. I made sure to use a larger hook for my chaining than for the shells because a girl can go crazy when working with tiny chain stitches.

Using a 9 mm hook, I started shelling purple. Starting at the beginning of the chain, the shell pattern is as follows: 1 sc *skip 1 stitch, 5 dc into the next stitch, skip 1 stitch, 1 sc into next stitch; rep from * to end.

It wasn’t until I typed this out that I realized I did 5 sc instead of 5 dc. No wonder mine didn’t turn out as full as the tutorial!

Even though I used a bigger hook in the hopes of not going batty while working with chain stitches, frustration and boredom still set in. So I looked to Wall-E for a laugh. He picked up his purple pitchfork and obliged.

At some point, I had to sew my string of shells to the fabric. Using a needle and gray thread, I attached the shelling to one of the gray circles.

Once the shelling was complete and in place, I attached a large yellow button and went into pillow-making mode.

Making sure the yarn was out of the way, I pinned the two pieces of gray fabric together and sewed them up.

I left a small opening for pulling the pillow right side out and stuffing. Once that step was complete, I hand-stitched the remaining part closed.

And that, my friends, is where baby pillows come from.

Beth Pensinger first allied with Words in fourth grade, but her subsequent negligence caused relations between the two to become strained.  Many years later, Beth was forced to call on her old ally for assistance reporting conditions of foreclosure properties to banks. Words grudgingly acquiesced, arming Beth with descriptive terms such as “functional obsolescence” and “depressed market conditions.” In return, Beth reforged their partnership when she became a realtor and allowed Words to help her create scintillating write-ups for her listings. Their alliance now stronger than ever, Beth and Words pour themselves into the work of writing and editing Beth’s first book: Let Me Fall. In their free time, the duo blog about dirty microwaves, infertility, and Scrabble.

Beth and her husband, Jerimiah, just celebrated their 13th anniversary and are parents to a sassy canine named Daisy. The four of them live in a house near Myrtle Beach, in which Words has a room of its own.

{You can follow Beth on Twitter and Facebook and read her awesome blog at bethpensinger.com.}

Have a Thrifty and Nifty Thursday!

4 thoughts on “Thrifty and Nifty {Guest Post}: DIY Crocheted Throw Pillow

  1. skimhenson says:

    Love this, Beth! So creative and really attractive.

    Allison, I’m really happy to find your blog. Beth told me the story about you winning at BRMCWC. She was so excited to share your writing. I hope one day I have the chance to meet you in person, maybe at Ridgecrest. Who knows?

Lovely Comments Here...

