The Great Purge (Part One): Memory Lane


Along with my parents and my brother and sister-in-law, we’re having a huge yard sale this Saturday. Although I didn’t have a lot to get rid of from our house (one of the perks of “cottage” living is you don’t have space for anything unnecessary), my mom had stored a ton of things for me in my parents’ barn.

I had no idea what a little hoarder I was, but it looks like that might actually pay off (literally) at the yard sale. Barbies and porcelain dolls that are still in good condition, stuffed animals from various Disney movies (spotless, I might add), and lots of random toys that any kid would enjoy. Luckily, Mom kept everything in seal-tight containers, so we only found one or two bins that housed tiny, vacant mouse nests.

The fun part about going through all that stuff, even though it takes a while, is seeing what you were like as a kid. Judging from my various diaries, fake notes, and other assorted scraps of paper I saved all these years, the following career options were explored:

  • Architect
  • Sketch Artist (mostly of our dog, Dazzle, and various celebrities, including animal stars)
  • Head of a Modeling Agency
  • Reporter for The Daily Planet (just so I could marry Clark Kent…The Dean Cain version)
  • Bad Hairstylist (I’m sorry about the hacked bob I gave you Miss Makeup!)
  • Radio Announcer (at a station that vaguely resembled the one from Saved by the Bell…coincidence?)

Also found amongst the treasures:

Months of the Year drawing circa 1993

My magazines of choice for “scouting” models for my agency…I’m telling you, I was on the way up…

A painting of Heather Locklear (not traced I might add)

One of my earliest pieces of writing in 2nd grade in which I share a love for math b/c I learn how to “muletuleply”.

The year of JTT…

The “Guys Next Door”…if you remember this sketch comedy/boy band music video show at all (came on after Saved by the Bell), you are awesome! Eddie was always my favorite (top left).

Jennifer Love Hewitt, Nick Carter, and the dog from Shiloh…I had very diverse tastes in art subjects.

JC Chasez from NSYNC

Last, but not least…just to keep me humble…my year old baby photo. I’m pretty sure that box I’m sitting on should say Sugar and Lard, since that’s what I seem to consist of at this point in my life. A face only a mother could love…

And the items above weren’t even the best finds if you can believe it! Tomorrow, I’ll share some of the things I actually kept for Finn.

Happy Monday!

 

 

11 thoughts on “The Great Purge (Part One): Memory Lane

  1. Jenny says:

    Your drawings are AWESOME! That Shiloh is adorable! I must say, your writing was quite entertaining: “I like the lunch ladies because they give us good food.” Ha ha ha. I enjoyed your “The End” written all big and fancy with some curls on the capitals. 🙂

    • Allison says:

      Unfortunately, I didn’t keep up with my art skills, but it’s still fun to see that I could draw back then. And as far as the lunch ladies, anyone who provides me with tasty food is good people in my book. 🙂

  2. Sara says:

    Wow….this definitely took me down memory lane:) thanks for sharing, I always seem to giggle out loud at some of the things you write, which is my favorite part of reading your blog. You also give great tips too;) by the way what year were those magazines? They look like they’re in great condition!

  3. celestevaughan says:

    Too cute! I hate “purging,” which I suppose is why I have so much crap in my house (stuff…sorry). Beware of selling the mint condition Barbies and the like…I had the original Fonzie doll (complete with moving thumb), Cher, and The original sunshine family. We sold them for 25 cents each (this was a few years ago…31 to be exact) and of course they were worth MUCH more. Good luck with the sale!

  4. ellen22andersen says:

    I love the drawings. Guess you were better at math. You didn’t mention anything about spelling. I think I know why. 🙂 On Mon, Sep 17, 2012 at 10:33 AM, The Budget Maven wrote:

    > ** > Allison posted: “Along with my parents and my brother and > sister-in-law, we’re having a huge yard sale this Saturday. Although I > didn’t have a lot to get rid of from our house (one of the perks of > “cottage” living is you don’t have space for anything unnecessary), my mom > “

Lovely Comments Here...

