Currently…


Loving: The cooler, crisp weather we’ve been having since this past Saturday. The fact that it’s time to break out the apple cider. I’m seeing orange, red, and gold everywhere I turn in different stores and that makes me very happy!

Working on: Tutoring, editing a friend’s book, a baby blanket for Finn, and organizing more baby stuff we received from Ryan’s sister.

Thinking about: Parenting. That’s pretty much all I think about when I have a free moment these days. A good friend recently assured me that you don’t really have to know how to parent right away because discipline issues usually don’t crop up until 9-12 months into the baby’s life on earth. I’m reading everything I can get my hands on right now, including Creative Correction by Lisa Whelchel (Yes, Blair from The Facts of Life) and both of the Duggars’ books (in particular the sections on raising children through character education). If you have any other suggestions, pass them along pretty please.

Anticipating: 1. Resident Evil 5 with my friend, Emily, this weekend. I know…here you were thinking I was this sweet, demure girl when all along, underneath this calm exterior, beats the heart of an action-movie loving wild child who likes to watch things blow up. 2. On a completely opposite note, I’m also going to a Hillsong concert this weekend with my best friend, Holly. Could I pick two activities that were more polar opposites? Anyway, we sing a lot of Hillsong’s music at church, and I’ve heard them live at Catalyst last year, so I’m really looking forward to enjoying their full concert.

Listening to:  The Civil Wars. There are certain bands that I’m constantly drawn back to, and this is one of them. They haven’t put out a new CD in a while, but I’m hoping and praying they come out with some sort of haunting Christmas album this year, just in time for me to use during labor to mellow out. 🙂

Eating: Ryan’s sister got me a copy of a cookbook from Tupelo Honey Cafe (in nearby Asheville) as a thank you for watching the kids this past week. We don’t get to Asheville often, but when we do, we love going there to eat. The recipes look pretty simple, so this week we’re trying the Tomato Pie and maybe Ryan’s favorite, sweet potato pancakes.

Wishing:  I think I’m eliminating this category in future Currently posts since there’s nothing I’m really wishing for…other than sneak peeks of my favorite tv shows…Hear that Teen Wolf? Okay, I take that back, I’m also wishing to save up enough money to buy a good camera for blog and baby photos. We’re having a yard sale in October, and I’m selling some things on craigslist, so maybe that’ll make me enough to get the one I want.

How about you? What are you up to today? Feel free to do your own “Currently” post on your blog and link back in the comments! Thanks, as always, to Dani over at Sometimes Sweet for the inspiration for these posts.

4 thoughts on “Currently…

  1. Julie says:

    Allison, I have all of the books you mentioned above! I love Creative Correction and both the Duggar books. Motherhood is wonderful and you will love it. It is such a sweetness that I have discovered and it will bond you and Ryan even more than you already are.

    • Allison says:

      Actually, Julie, I think you’re the one who told me about Creative Correction a few years back. I bought it way back then just in preparation, but now that I’ll have someone to work with on the techniques shared in the book, it makes it seem like such a smart purchase. 🙂 I look forward to motherhood and hope you’re enjoying the beginning of your journey as well. 🙂

  2. csgbaker says:

    I’m so with you on the crisper, cooler weather. Fall can’t come soon enough for me! I’ve never heard The Civil Wars but no doubt you’ll enjoy Hillsong 🙂

    I look forward to seeing you and your mom on Thursday!

Lovely Comments Here...

