Disney Princes 101: A Quick Overview


Sorry I’ve been MIA the past couple of days, but babysitting our niece and nephew kept me very busy. I also received a master education in Disney movies. Because I’ve seen most of the Disney movies Maya watched the past three days, I wasn’t really intrigued by the storylines like I was as a kid. Instead, I ran around after Chase while sizing up the Disney Princes (or male love interest in some cases…poor Aladdin!) and wondering what type of message we’re sending our little girls when we have them yearn for princes of their own.

Now, I don’t want to get too philosophical, but here are a few observations I made about each male love interest in several of the Disney movies we watched this week:

Prince Charming: Rich, handsome, and a lovely dancer…great! But can’t be bothered to remember a girl’s face and needs a glass slipper to show him who Cinderella really is…hmm. A little shallow if you ask me… 🙂

Prince Eric: He seems like a friendly, down-to-earth kind of chap, but I guess hitting your head in a shipwreck is enough to turn any man from a great catch into a senseless fool who is too busy pining for his ideal girl (whose face he can’t even remember either) while a gorgeous, sweet redhead is trying to charm him. Yeah, yeah, Ursula put a spell on him…blah blah blah…likely story Eric!

The Beast: From spoiled, heartless prince to cursed hairy beast with anger issues and bad manners, yeah, that’s what I’ve always dreamed of. I’ll cut him a little slack because it had to be a pain living with all that body hair, and he does begin to soften his heart thanks to Belle’s influence, but do we really want girls to think they should find a guy they can change. Maybe I’m reading too much into the movie or maybe The Beast was just misunderstood…who knows *shrug*

Prince Philip (from Sleeping Beauty): Until recently, Prince Philip was always my favorite Disney Prince…I mean he could dance, he had a sense of humor, and he slayed a dragon for Princess Aurora while she took a much needed nap and then awoke her with a doozy of a true love’s kiss. C’mon! What’s not to love? Although, I still like Philip, he’s been replaced by a new favorite Disney dude…

Are you ready? Because here comes the Smolder!

Flynn Rider: While not technically a prince, this clever, wise-cracking, overly-confident love interest for Tangled’s Rapunzel is smart, funny, and has overcome a rough childhood. I can appreciate that. Yes, I know he’s a thief (so was Aladdin and that didn’t stop me from loving him either), but he begins to change throughout the movie from a self-involved narcissist to a caring, sacrificial man of bravery and honor. With no effort on Rapunzel’s part mind you. She didn’t have to change him, he saw the need for a change himself. Just sayin’.

An honorable mention goes to Aladdin, who had obvious self-worth issues, but was redeemed by his street urchin lovability.

Have I spent too much time analyzing these movies and their characters? Yes, I think it’s safe to say I have…but that’s what happens when you try to reason with a three-year old all day on very little sleep…you start analyzing animated movie characters and blogging about them. It is what it is.

Have a great weekend!

 

6 thoughts on “Disney Princes 101: A Quick Overview

  1. Beth Pensinger says:

    I think your observations are great! Prince Charming is definitely lowest on my prince pole too. And I agree–Flynn is a clear favorite!
    I also happen to think there’s no such thing as too much time spent analyzing Disney princes. 🙂

  2. Abby says:

    Love this post.. so funny and so true! I never thought that much into the Disney princes. The Little Mermaid and Aladdin were always my favorite movies 🙂

Lovely Comments Here...

