A Happy Plate


There’s a reason children are always told that an empty plate is a happy plate, and it has nothing to do with food.

I mean, look at this plate:

It’s clean, there aren’t a million things on there to have to stuff into your mouth, and it’s open to be filled with all sorts of healthy (I hope) and tasty possibilities.

My current plate, on the other hand, looks like this:

Somewhere, tucked inside of all that junk, are the things I really care about and want to make a success, like my job at the church, the blog, my novel(s), running the household, and preparing for the expansion of our little family.

I’ve bought into the HUGE lie that society feeds women…that we can do it all. Guess what, Society, we can do it all, but that doesn’t mean that it all gets done well. Who wants to do it all anyway?

I’ll spare you the long rant I was composing in my head on the drive home from work this afternoon because quite frankly writing that kind of post would get in the way of me taking a much needed three-hour (or maybe three-day) nap right now.

Instead, I’ll just tell you that The Budget Maven will be on a four-day mini vacation to rid her life of the unnecessary junk and make her plate happy again. But I will return with fresh posts and hopefully some fresh changes on Monday, July 23rd. I’m hoping the time off from blogging will give me some new ideas and rejuvenate my weary mind. I’d encourage you to take a day or two to do the same if you need to.

Have a great rest of the week and a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “A Happy Plate

Lovely Comments Here...

