The Tuesday Ten:{Show Some Appreciation}


If you haven’t heard, tomorrow is Administrative Professionals’ Day, so, if you work in an office, that means you get a chance to show some love and appreciation to your company’s receptionist, administrative assistant, or even your fellow office mates.

Wouldn’t it be nice if we could also learn to show other professionals how much we appreciate the work they do, whether it’s our favorite Starbucks barista, our co-workers, or even someone we live with? Today’s Tuesday Ten is all about ideas for expressing gratitude.

image via The Graphics Fairy

1. Stick a note in your spouse’s or child’s lunch telling them how proud you are of them and the hard work they put forth at their job or school.

2. Send an email to a co-worker thanking them for the things they do everyday that make your job easier. If appropriate and within the realm of your office etiquette, email their supervisor explaining what an asset your co-worker is to the company.

3. Personally tip your favorite barista at Starbucks or ask to sit in your favorite server’s station at a restaurant you frequent, and give them a generous tip. Let them know you’re tipping them extra because you appreciate their excellent service.

4. Pick up a scented tea light and put it on a friend’s desk at work or in their office mailbox with a note that says, “I hope this candle brightens your day like you brighten mine.” {I can’t take credit for thinking this one up, so Shelley, thank you for giving me the idea.}

5. Stick a post-it note on the front cover of your library books when you return them with a positive message for the librarians to discover when checking the books back in.

6. Make a simple dessert like brownies or cookies, and take it to your neighbor’s house with a note letting them know how hard it is to find good neighbors and why you’re so glad they live next door.

7. Write a heartfelt letter to your parents, grandparents, or other close relatives thanking them for something important they taught you that has always stuck with you.

8. For one week (or longer if you’re really generous), take over a household chore that your spouse isn’t fond of but always completes with excellence.

9. Send a friend a simple text thanking them for being there for you in all situations.

10. Bring a token of appreciation to someone you see on a regular basis whether it’s a post office worker, a cashier at your local Target, or the receptionist at your dentist’s or doctor’s office. Flowers or donuts are always a good choice.

What about you guys? Have any other suggestions for showing gratitude to those around you? If you’ve tried any of these suggestions or plan to try them, let us know how they went.

I also wanted to take a moment and personally thank my top three commenters on The Budget Maven: Cathy Baker (visit her at Rhyme & Reason), Anne-Marie Miller (stop by Greenish Monkeys and say hello), and Jenny Blevins (check out her blog and website). Thanks for all the wonderful comments and words of encouragement.

I truly appreciate all the comments I receive and try to respond to every one. One of the reasons I love blogging so much is the sense of community it establishes, so to all my readers past and present, thanks for taking time out of your busy day to read The Budget Maven.

See you tomorrow for the Wordless{ish} Wednesday writing prompt!

5 thoughts on “The Tuesday Ten:{Show Some Appreciation}

  1. Abby says:

    I love doing things for people. I sometimes go back in line at the store and give an extra coupon (or one that can be used again) to a random person. That always seems to make them happy. I have paid for lunch for the people behind me in a drive through. I like to write letters to my kids’ teachers at Christmas and the end of the year to let them know how much I appreciated them… they have a hard job!

  2. Lindsey says:

    I’m so glad you did this post! After I read it, I went straight to the store and picked up a little something for the administrative prof’s in our office. Thanks!!

  3. csgbaker says:

    I LOVE this post, Allison! I plan to see my “favorite” waitress tomorrow (re: today’s blog) and I will be sure to use one of your ideas to brighten her day. One idea I’ve used in the past is to share a packet of seeds with friends/relatives who’ve invested in my life, along with a note thanking them for the specific ways they’ve planted seeds of hope and/or encouragement through their acts of love. If it’s someone I’ve not seen in awhile, I buy “Forget Me Not” seeds and tell them why they’re unforgettable. šŸ™‚

    • Allison says:

      Cathy, I love the seed idea! What a memorable way to show someone how they’ve impacted your life. Forget me nots a are a nice touch too. šŸ™‚

Lovely Comments Here...

