Weekend in Savannah and {A Winner for the Writing Challenge}


We had a delightful weekend in Savannah, but instead of telling you all about it, how about I show you some of the many highlights of the trip. {I’ll have tips for thrifty travel in a later post, so stay tuned.}

We stopped on our drive down just outside of Beaufort, SC to visit the Old Sheldon Ruins.

Old Sheldon Ruins

We stopped again in Beaufort for a carriage tour and spotted this Antebellum house. Can't you just imagine some belle in a flouncy hoop skirt stepping outside to fan herself on a hot day.

Our Digs for the Weekend:

Ryan found this gorgeous duplex for us to stay in on VRBO.com. Way more fun and cheaper than a hotel stay would've been.

The Master Bedroom

Living Room and Dining room on lower level

The back patio on the lower level

Dining Room view & Living room. Yes there are two fireplaces.

Now to more of the city:

Forsythe Park: This place was hopping Saturday with the Farmer's Market, Zumba in the Park, and an orientation event for students of the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD)

Beautiful historic cathedral

inside view of the Cathedral

The Mercer House from Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

I could write a whole other post about just the architecture in Savannah, but instead I'll just leave you with one of my favorite examples from the trip.

Good Eats:

Veggie Burger and Sweet Potato fries at The Crystal Beer Parlor

Beignets from Huey's or Death by Powdered Sugar as I like to call them. We stopped here twice during our four day stay. Mmm!

Voted best takeout in Savannah. A deli with South African flare.

I highly recommend The Conquistador and the house tea at Zunzi's. Needless to say this sandwich served as two meals for me.

Deal and Steals:

Vintage-inspired Rag Doll Handkerchief from Fabrika (a little fabric store with lots of crafty ideas decorating the walls). Not sure where this will go in our house, but I plan to iron and frame it. $6

Found a Five Little Peppers book {circa 1937} in Steal Magnolia Antiques ($4). My mom read The Five Little Peppers and How They Grew to me as a child. I had no idea there were other books in the series.

Actually found this closer to Beaufort at the LeCreuset Outlet, which we stumbled on by accident and decided to pop into for a quick look. This pitcher is regularly $75 but was marked down to $18, and I couldn't turn it down.

This is but a mere glimpse into the awesome time we had this weekend. If you love Southern culture, art, scrumptious food, history, architecture, or shopping, Savannah is the place to visit. And please, if you do go, stuff me in your suitcase and take me back with you. I promise I’ll stay quiet in the trunk until we get there.

Hope you all had an equally fabulous weekend! Please share your adventures in the comments section, and don’t forget to take a peek below to find out the winner of the writing prompt contest. If you’d like to see all the entries, click here.

{WINNER, WINNER, CHICKEN DINNER!} Since all of the entries in last week’s writing prompt challenge were SO good, I didn’t feel like I could decide on the winner, so I showed the photo prompt to an outside source and read each sentence aloud (without sharing the person’s name) And drum roll please….the winner for last Wednesday’s writing prompt challenge was Lisa! I’m air high-fiving you right now! Congrats!

Below is her winning entry:

“Audrey gazed at the beauty before her and wondered whether she should venture ahead. It was so inviting, but she was never supposed to go there.”

Reading the responses to the writing prompt was so much fun last week, I think I’ll make it a weekly tradition. What do you guys think?


2 thoughts on “Weekend in Savannah and {A Winner for the Writing Challenge}

  1. csgbaker says:

    Loved the tour, Allison! Thank you for the sneak peeks and perks. 🙂 I like the idea of making the prompts a weekly tradition. This week’s selection was a bit haunting…nice!

    • Allison says:

      Cathy, it was pretty fun for me just to read what people came up with. I’ll definitely do another one this week and see what the response is. Make sure you enter this time. 🙂

Lovely Comments Here...

