Currently…


Loving: Just finished reading “In Zanesville” by Jo Ann Beard. It’s about nothing and everything at the same time, which are sometimes my favorite type of books. The fourteen-year-old narrator is so engaging and funny, and the book brought me straight back to the days of my best friend and I calling boys we liked and hanging up when their moms went to get them. Good times!

Thinking about: I cleaned the house this morning so that always clears my mind and consequently gets me thinking. I’ve mainly been thinking about how grateful I am for our house. It’s old, it only has one bathroom, and it will probably need a lot of renovations over the next few years, but it’s got just the right amount of cozyness and quirk to call it home. I’ve even come to love the 1955 décor in the kitchen. (We call it vintage so we feel cooler.)

Anticipating: Seeing The Hunger Games tomorrow. I haven’t looked so forward to seeing a movie in a really long time. I think I’m most excited to see my favorite scenes acted out. Also, I absolutely LOVE Jennifer Lawrence and think she makes the perfect Katniss, so I can’t wait to see her as the girl on fire.

Yes, I'm gonna be THAT girl at the theater.

Listening to:  Birdy’s self-titled CD. I just discovered her on The Hunger Games soundtrack. Her voice has a beautiful melancholy quality to it that perfectly matches the overcast skies outside. And…she does a mean cover of “Fire and Rain”.

Eating: Tonight we’re splurging for an early birthday dinner for Ryan. His birthday is not until tomorrow, but we’ll use just about any excuse to visit Mellow Mushroom, a local chain that makes—and I don’t mean this figuratively—the best pizza in the world. Not sure what they put in the crust, but I assume it’s some sort of addictive drug.

Wishing: Life is really good right now, but sometimes I wish I could just skip ahead to the future a little, not to avoid anything, just to see if things turn out the way I think they will. I know. I know. Beauty is in the surprises life sends our way, but maybe one of these days they’ll have an app for that.

How about you? What are you up to today? Feel free to do your own “currently” post on your blog and link back in the comments! Thanks to Danielle at Sometimes Sweet for inspiring this post.

Lovely Comments Here...

