Reunited and It Feels So Good!


Wow! It’s been so long since I’ve last updated the blog and that’s only because we’ve been so busy during this season of our lives. First of all, Duplex Hunt 2010 has been officially cancelled and will now rest in the annals of history along with the Great Pumpkin and Sasquatch, but alas, we are not defeated! Upon researching duplexes in our area, we found that what we could afford and what we would be comfortable in living in are two completely different things. We are currently in negotiations to purchase our first home, which, coincidentally, would also be a great rental property down the road. It’s an older home and will need a little tender loving care in the next few years, but it was a deal we felt like we couldn’t pass up, so keep you fingers crossed that all goes according to plan.

I have a part time job now (this was the volunteer position I mentioned a couple of months ago), which is great because it’s interesting work, the schedule is flexible so that I can still do things like write this blog, finish my novel, etc. and it’s allowing us to build back up our savings and emergency fund since I quit teaching. My husband and I have talked extensively about how we’d like to live (financially) for the next few years and we’ve decided that even if we both have full time jobs, we’ll still always try to live on one of our incomes. This is basically how we’ve been living since we got married a year and a half ago, but that was only because one of those incomes was being used to tackle debt like Drew Brees attacks a zone defense! We found that we can live comfortably on one income, so we might as well give ourselves the freedom to use the second income to prepare for emergencies or other investments we come upon along the way.

Finally, I am coming to terms with the fact that we will always be on a tight budget. My husband and I both feel strongly that we are called to be good stewards of our money, not slaves to it. Since I’m in a confessional mood, I’ll be honest, I have struggled in the past few months with wondering if me quitting my job to pursue my dream of writing was the right one and I constantly worried that I had created a financial burden for our family, but I have clung tightly to God during this whole experiment and He has never once let me down. I have seen God’s hand on our finances from the moment I quit until now and I know that will continue as long as we continue to ask for wisdom and guidance in this area of our lives. We may not always have a lot, but I’m realizing more and more that this doesn’t mean we won’t have a richly satisfying life. 😉

 

 

One thought on “Reunited and It Feels So Good!

  1. Jenny B says:

    Very inspiring! It must be frightening to leave your job, but I love that you had the courage to do that and are proving to us that life isn’t about making money and having stuff. You have simplified, found the satisfaction of breaking away from our materialistic society, and are able to write, spend time with your family, and pursue the things you love. Continue to keep us updated!

Lovely Comments Here...

