Living like no one else…


Financial guru Dave Ramsey has a famous tagline, “Live like no one else, so you can live like no one else”. Well, my husband and I are truly living that out, starting today. I just walked away from a “solid” career in education to pursue my dream of writing full-time, which means we will be living on one income for a little while. However, now that I’m not struggling to put in extra time at work or bringing work home, I think I’ll have more time to concentrate on saving (and making) money in ways I’ve never had time to think about.

This afternoon, we met with a friend of ours, who is also a financial counselor, and with nothing to gain in saying this, he pretty much told us that working for someone else is nothing short of indentured servitude. He said the absolute best position someone could be in is as an employer and/or an investor, instead of an employee. I realize the average person could figure an idea this simple out on their own, however, I don’t know many people living in this mindset.

The second you get married, you are expected to be in the job you will retire from, buy a house, and have children. With the exception of a few, I have never heard any of my friends include in their “big plan” owning rental property, investing in commercial property, or working for themselves. Not to say that it can’t be done, but I think the idea of everything entailed in becoming financially independent seems so hugely overwhelming that people don’t take the time to break the “big” plan into little tasks.

So from this day forward, my mission is to “Live like no one else…”. No, it won’t happen overnight. No, it won’t be easy. Yes, there will be plenty of sacrifices along the way, but ultimately when I reflect on my life, I do NOT want to be defined by what I did for a living or from whom I earned a dollar. I want my life to center around family and friends, and I want to know I made a difference in someone’s life. In short, I want to be Oprah, minus the self-obsession and yelling of people’s names.

3 thoughts on “Living like no one else…

  1. Emily says:

    You are my hero! I’m serious…you’re quite the inspiration. I can’t tell you how much I admire the leap that you’re taking. If you need anything, I’m here. πŸ™‚

    P.S. – I’m so adding this blog to my RSS feed. πŸ˜€

    Emily W.

  2. Erin says:

    Ha! Love the Oprah comment at the end. When you make it, I’ll say I roomed with her in college πŸ™‚ Can’t wait! Seriously think it’s so cool that you’re chasing down this dream of yours.

Lovely Comments Here...

